Events & Happenings

Exhibitions 2018- 2019

Stitched—Work by Maria Shell, Valdez Museum & Historical Archive Valdez, Alaska 
Modern Inspirations—Traveling SAQA Exhibition
Artist as Quiltmaker, Oberlin, Ohio
See My Voice, Ross Art Museum, Delaware, Ohio
New Legacies: Contemporary Art Quilts, The Lincoln Center, Fort Collins, Colorado
Metamorphosis SAQA Traveling Global Exhibition
In the American Tradition, Traveling IQA Exhibition
Excellence in Fibers, San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles, San Jose, California
TBD, Solo Show, Visions Art Museum—Contemporary Quilts +  Textiles, San Diego, California (January – March 2019) <>

Teaching and Lecturing Schedule 2018 

January 2018
Quilt Passions—Kona, Hawaii
Thursday January 4, 2018
Workshop: Making Prints out of Solids—Lines & Shapes
Tuesday January 9, 2018
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting—The Art of Making Do

March 2018
Valdez Museum & Historical Archive—Valdez, Alaska 
Friday March 2, 2018
5PM -6PM Artist Gallery Talk @ the Valdez Museum
Saturday March 3, 2018
9AM – 4PM Workshop—Riffing on Tradition

April 2018
Pajaro Valley Quilt Association—Aptos, California
Saturday April 7, 2018
10AM – 4PM Workshop: Making Prints out of Solids—Lines and Shapes
Monday April 9, 2018
Lecture: Patchwork to Artwork—Journey of Alaskan Quilt Maker
7:30PM

Northern Star Quilters Guild
Somers, New York
Tuesday  April 17, 2018
Lecture: Patchwork to Artwork—Journey of an Alaskan Quilt Maker
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Workshop: Making Prints out of Solids—Lines & Shapes
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Workshop: Circle & Curve Sampler

Rochester Modern Quilt Guild
Rochester, New York
Friday, April 20, 2018
Lecture: Patchwork to Artwork–Journey of an Alaskan Quilt Maker
Saturday, April  21, 2018
Workshop—Circle & Curve Sampler

Western New York Modern Quilters
Buffalo, New York
Sunday April 22—Linear Blocks

Quilters Unlimited
Reston, Virginia
Tuesday, April 24—Lecture: Traditional, Art, Modern–Notes from the Field
Wednesday, April 25—Workshop: Riffing on Tradition

MAY 2018
Yellowknife Quilters Guild
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
< >
Thursday May 17 – Monday May 21

JUNE 2018
Quilt and Surface Design Symposium—Columbus, Ohio
Tuesday June 5 – Monday June 11
June 4 – 8 Abstraction Through Color, Pattern & Repetition
June 9 -10 Making Prints Out of Solids – Lines & Shapes

SEPTEMBER 2018
ArtLeaps Ventures With Barb Mortell—Tsawwassen, BC- Canada
Saturday September 16 –  Tuesday September 19
Making Prints out of Solids- Blow it UP! Mash Up.

East Bay Heritage Quilters
Berkeley, California
Saturday September 22, 2018
Workshop: Linear Blocks
Monday September 24, 2018
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting—The Art of Making Do
Lecture: Traditional, Art, & Modern—Notes from the Field

Anchorage Log Cabin Quilters
Anchorage, Alaska
Thursday September 27,2018
Lecture: Traditional, Art, Modern–Notes from the Field
Friday September 28, 2018
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting–the ART of Making Do
Saturday September 29, 2018
Workshop: Circle & Curve Sampler

OCTOBER 2018
Quilt & Fiber Arts Festival 
Everett, Washington
Friday October 12, 2018
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting—the ART of Making Do

NOVEMBER 2018
International Quilt Festival
Houston, Texas
Monday November 5
Workshop: Bits & Pieces—Designing from the Scrap Bag 9AM-5PM
Workshop: Patchwork Computer Bag 6PM-9PM
Tuesday November 6
Workshop: Social Media for Makers 9AM-12PM
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting—The Art of Making Do 2PM -5PM
Wednesday November 7
Workshop: Color—It’s Relative 9AM -12PM
Workshop: Time Tracking for Makers 2PM -5PM
Thursday November 8
Workshop: Show Your Work! 9AM – 12PM
Workshop: Fused Floral Bouquet 2PM -5PM
Friday November 9
Workshop: Circle & Curve Sampler 9AM -5PM
Workshop: Artful Oven Mitts 6PM – 9PM
Saturday November 10
Saturday Sampler 
Improv Patchwork—Dynamic Quilts Made with Line & Shape 10AM -12PM

If you would like more information about any of these engagements, please contact me via my ABOUT page on this website. Or email me directly at mariashell4atgmail.com. And if you are at any of these events, please come by and say hello!