Events & Happenings

Current Exhibitions 2018- 2019
Metamorphosis SAQA Traveling Global Exhibition
Quilts=Art=Quilts, The Schweinfurth Memorial Art Center, Auburn, New York
In the American Tradition, Traveling IQA Exhibition
Excellence in Fibers, San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles, San Jose, California
The Pieced Canvas–Solo Show, Visions Art Museum—Contemporary Quilts +  Textiles, San Diego, California (January – March 2019) 

TEACH AND LECTURE SCHEDULE

November 2018
International Quilt Festival
Houston, Texas
Monday November 5
Workshop: Bits & Pieces—Designing from the Scrap Bag 9AM-5PM
Workshop: Patchwork Computer Bag 6PM-9PM
Tuesday November 6
Workshop: Social Media for Makers 9AM-12PM
Workshop: Kitchen Sink Quilting—The Art of Making Do 2PM -5PM
Wednesday November 7
Workshop: Color—It’s Relative 9AM -12PM
Workshop: Time Tracking for Makers 2PM -5PM
Thursday November 8
Workshop: Show Your Work! 9AM – 12PM
Workshop: Fused Floral Bouquet 2PM -5PM
Friday November 9
Workshop: Circle & Curve Sampler 9AM -5PM
Workshop: Artful Oven Mitts 6PM – 9PM
Saturday November 10
Saturday Sampler 
Improv Patchwork—Dynamic Quilts Made with Line & Shape 10AM -12PM

January 2019
Craft Napa
Napa Valley, California
Friday January 11, 2019—Making Prints out of Solids
Saturday Janaury 12, 2019—Linear Blocks—Line into Shape (THREE SPOTS left.)
Sunday January 13, 2019—Circle & Curve Sampler

Visions Art Museum: Contemporary Quilts + Textiles 
San Diego, California
The Pieced Canvas—Solo Exhibition
Opening Reception Friday January 19, 2019
Exhibition Dates January 19—April 7, 2019

Road to California 
Ontario, California
Tuesday – Wednesday January 22-23—Making Prints out of Solids: Line into Shape
Thursday January 24—Circle & Curve Sampler
Thursday Evening January 24—Artful Oven Mitts
Friday—Bits & Pieces: Designing from the Scrap Bag
Friday Evening—Roundabout Demonstration

February 2019
QuiltCon 
Thursday February 21 – Sunday February 24
I will be running the SAQA booth. Please come by and see hello! 

March 2019
Quilted Straight 
Port Gamble, Washington
Wednesday 27- Friday March 29—Making Prints out of Solids/Riffing on Tradition Mash Up

April 2019
SAQA Conference 
San Jose, California
Thursday April 25 – Sunday April 28

May 2019
Genesee Valley Quiltfest 
Rochester, New York
Thursday May 30—Kitchen Sink Quilting: The ART of Making Do
Friday May 31—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks
Saturday June 1 Lecture—Patchwork to Artwork: Journey of an Alaskan Quiltmaker

June 2019
Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild 
Kansas City, Missouri
Thursday June 13 Lecture—Patchwork to Artwork: Journey of an Alaskan Quiltmaker
Friday June 14—Circle & Curve Sampler


The Quilt Guild of Greater Houston 
Houston, Texas
Tuesday June 18th Lecture—Traditional, Art, Modern: Notes from the Field
Wednesday June 19th—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks

The Golden Triangle Quilt Guild
Beaumont, Texas
Thursday June 20 – Saturday June 21
Thursday June 20th Lecture TBD
Friday June 21—Workshop TBD
Saturday June 22—Workshop TBD

Crosstown Arts 
Memphis, Tennessee
Community Quilt Building Project (Tentative)
Wednesday June 26 – Friday June 28

July 2019
Quilter’s Affair 
Sisters, Oregon
Tuesday July 9—Linear Blocks: Line into Shape
Wednesday July 10—Making Prints out of Solids
Thursday July 11—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks
Friday July 12—Bits & Pieces: Designing from the Scrap Bag

August 2019
American Quilter Society Quilt Week
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Wednesday August 21 – Saturday August 24
Workshops TBD

Prairie Star Quilters Guild 
St. Charles, Illinois
Monday August 26 Lecture—Traditional Art Modern—Notes from the Field
Monday August 26 Riffing on Tradition Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks
Tuesday August 27 Lecture—TBD
Tuesday August 27 Art Applique

September 2019
Australia (Tentative)
I am going to be in New Zealand so I might as well hope on over to Australia before hand. If your guild, shop, or group is interested in having me teach or lecture, please email me at mariashell4atgmail.com

October 2019
New Zealand National Quilt Symposium 
Awkland, New Zealand
Tuesday October 1 – Sunday October 6
Three Day Workshop—Making Prints out of Solids
Two Day Workshop—Blow It UP!

Hudson River Valley Art Workshops 
Greenville, New York
Monday October 21 – Friday October 25
Five Day Workship—TBD

International Quilt Festival (Tentative)
Houston, Texas
Sunday October 27 – Monday November 4, 2019

If your guild, group, or shop is interested in having me teach for you in 2020, please contact me at mariashell4atgmail.com I would love to work with you!